Prep Soccer: Vikings, Greyhounds dominate NPC all-conference team

Posted at 8:30 PM on Nov 27, 2018



South Iredell and Statesville dominated the North Piedmont Conference boys soccer all-conference postseason honors.

The Vikings, who won the conference championship, placed five players on the all-conference team and South Iredell Coach Curt Rogers was named NPC Coach of the Year.

Jason Jimenez, Dylan Dellinger, Thomas Moreno, Carter Cooke and Nate Piazza were named all-conference for the Vikings, who finished 13-3-5 overall and 9-1 in the NPC.


Senior goalkeeper Josh Fuhrman was named NPC Player of the Year. He recored seven shutouts on the season and allowed only seven goals in conference play as the Greyhounds finished 11-9-2 overall and 8-2 in the NPC.

Ross Garrison, Dawson Sprinkle, Jamie Woodard and Garrett Potemry were also named all-conference for Coach Eric Hanson's squad, which finished second in the NPC.


Coach Tyler Carter's Raiders were in the hunt for a share of the NPC championship until the waning days of the season, when they dropped a 3-0 decision against South Iredell and then lost to Statesville in a penalty kick shootout.

North Iredell placed three players on the all-conference team. Seniors Dylan Coltrane, Patrick Frye and Hunter Ketchie earned all-NPC honors as the Raiders finished 13-7-1 overall and 7-3 in the conference.


The remaining spots on the all-conference team were filled by West Rowan's Esteban Trujillo and Jose Guerrero, Carson's Alex ortiz, and East Rowan's Alex Kalogerometros.

The all-conference teams, and coach of the year and player of the year awards were selected by NPC coaches.


Join the VIP Readers' Club!

Creating an account entitles you to the following perks:

Already a member?


Subscribe to SVL Free News Email Alerts

* indicates required