National Balloon Rally Charities contributes more than $100K to local nonprofits, partner agencies

Posted at 10:31 PM on Nov 27, 2018


balloon nonprofits.jpg

Representatives of the 30-plus agencies who received donations from National Balloon Rally Charities pose for a photo Tuesday.


The timing was perfect.

On National Giving Day, organizers of the 45th Annual Carolina BalloonFest donated $100,400 to more than 30 local nonprofits, agencies and partner organizations on Tuesday. 

During a celebration of the annual festival, which drew an estimated 40,000 to the Statesville Regional Airport for three days of ballooning and live entertainment, National Balloon Rally Charities Executive Director Bud Welch thanked the recipients for helping make the event a success.

“We are extremely fortunate to have great sponsors and the best volunteers to make this event happen,” Welch continued. “Over four decades strong, this event continues to prosper but the most important part is that we are making a difference in our community. Giving back a portion of the proceeds is truly what our event is all about.”

The following organizations received donations from National Ballon Rally Charities:

American Cancer Society - Relay for Life
Balloon Federation of America – Youth Scholarship Program
Boys & Girls Club of the Piedmont
Boy Scouts Troop #174
Boy Scots Troop #377
Boy Scouts Troop #607
Boy Scouts Troop # 609
Children’s Home of Iredell County
City of Statesville
Civil Air Patrol Iredell Squadron
Crosby Scholars
Dove House Children's Advocacy Center
Fifth Street Ministries
Girl Scouts Carolina Peaks to Piedmont Region 5
Harmony Elementary School Library
Hospice & Palliative Care of Iredell County
SCAN of Iredell
In His Steps
Lifespan Circle School
Mitchell Community College Endowment for Excellence
North Iredell High School JROTC
North Iredell High School Cheerleaders
Pink Heals Foothills Chapter
Power Cross
Rainbow Kidz
Statesville Chamber of Commerce
Statesville Kiwanis
Tribute to the Troops
United Way of Iredell County
Young life of Iredell County

National Balloon Rally Charities Board

balloon board_8270.jpg

Pictured (from left) are National Balloon Rally Charities Board Members Jared Stone, David Aman, Jada Thompson, Carol Johnson (chair), Gary Cook, Alex Walker, Mandy McLaughlin, Andrew Scott (treasurer), Kory Massey (past chair), Brittany Hill, Daniel Sasser, and Bud Welch (executive director). Not Pictured are Brian Weiss (incoming chair), Bob Thompson and Butch Morrison.

balloon sponsors_10155667418326161_3580664782421753856_n.jpg

Join the VIP Readers' Club!

Creating an account entitles you to the following perks:

Already a member?


Subscribe to SVL Free News Email Alerts

* indicates required