Mitchell Community College honors employee service, excellence in education

Posted at 11:13 PM on Aug 7, 2019


RD Grier Winners.jpg

Pictured (from left) are 2019 R.D. Grier Excellence in Education award winners Beverly Rufty, Keith Miller, Nydia Ferral and Christa Cowan. Not pictured: Marcella James.

Special to

The following Mitchell Community College employees were honored at the College’s Opening Day assembly on Monday, August 5:

5 Years of Service

► Roy Davidson, Valerie Doig, Nydia Ferral, Kenya Goldsberry, Louis Guy, Sally Johnson, Anita Kessler, Al Lofland, Amy Money, Amanda Moose, Barbara Myers, Christina Owen, Amy Poirier, Gwen Ramirez, Maira Rios, Everette Steele, Megan Suber, Clay Tallman, Jamie Vance

10 Years of Service

► Marc Davis, Donna Dezern, Toni Dimella, Sandra Landry, Jeanne Miller, Tessa Townsend, Lee Troutman

15 Years of Service

► Sally Dellinger, Barbara Dobbins, Mark Niswonger, Pam Robinson, Charles Shuford, Lee Jan Waddell, Loraine Watt, Ann Wright

20 Years of Service

► Jeff Benfield, Christina Brown, Joyce Chambers, Tammy Rackley, Donna Worrell

30 Years of Service

► Nancy Fields

40 Years of Service

► Carolyn Gray

R.D. Grier Excellence in Education

Keith Miller (Faculty); Christa Cowan (Adjunct Faculty); Beverly Rufty (Professional/Para-Professional/Technical); Nydia Ferral (Support Staff); Marcella James (Facilities Staff)

In 1986, the Fanjoy family established the R.D. Grier Excellence in Education Award in honor of R. D. Grier’s devotion and contribution to the longevity of Mitchell Community College. Before his death in 1993 at the age of 104, Mr. Grier tirelessly served for many years as a charter member and chair of the Mitchell College Foundation. Earnings from the Grier Excellence in Education Endowment, with support from the Board of Trustees, make it possible for the College to honor outstanding members of its staff each year for exemplary service in the categories of Faculty, Adjunct Faculty, Professional/Para-Professional/Technical Staff, Support Staff, and Facilities Staff.

About Mitchell Community College

Mitchell Community College serves 10,000 students annually through a variety of curriculum, continuing education and workforce development programs. With campuses in Statesville and Mooresville, Mitchell offers quality, affordable education options to residents of Iredell County and the surrounding area. For more information, visit or call (704) 878-3200 (Statesville Campus) or (704) 663-1923 (Mooresville Campus).

Join the VIP Readers' Club!

Creating an account entitles you to the following perks:

Already a member?


Subscribe to SVL Free News Email Alerts

* indicates required