Scholarship Winners

Jason Jimenez-4.jpg

Jason Jimenez

Parker Shoaf-2.jpg

Parker Shoaf

EnergyUnited awards $5,000 college scholarships to two students

Posted at 6:24 PM on May 10, 2019


Special to

EnergyUnited is pleased to announce its 2019 Empowering the Future scholarship winners: Jason Jimenez of Iredell County and Parker Shoaf of Davidson County.

Both students will receive $5,000 college scholarships from EnergyUnited, which will be used to cover qualifying college-related expenses.

As Empowering the Future scholarship winners, Jimenez and Shoaf were selected by a special committee comprised of EnergyUnited members in recognition of their tremendous academic successes and demonstrated commitment to improving the quality of life in their respective communities.

“We are honored to award these scholarships to two outstanding young men,” said Maureen Moore, communications manager. “This program does not simply demonstrate EnergyUnited’s continued commitment to the community – it goes one step further by rewarding individual students who also espouse and visibly support this core cooperative belief.”

Jimenez, a senior at South Iredell High School, and Shoaf, a senior at West Davidson High School, are both planning to study biology starting next year when they begin classes at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

But the two have more in common than their academic interests and plans. They have also demonstrated a profound commitment to serving others by tutoring students and by volunteering at local non-profit organizations in their communities.

2019 marked the second year in which EnergyUnited offered two $5,000 Empowering the Future scholarships.

The cooperative received nearly 70 applications from students throughout its 19-county service area. All seniors who live in a residence or attend a high school served by EnergyUnited are eligible to apply each year.

EnergyUnited will begin accepting 2020 Empowering the Future scholarship applications on January 1, 2020.

About EnergyUnited

EnergyUnited Electric Membership Corporation (EMC) is the largest electric cooperative in North Carolina serving nearly 130,000 metering points. Headquartered in Statesville, EnergyUnited provides electric service in portions of 19 counties in west central North Carolina which include Alexander, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston, Guilford, Iredell, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, Stokes, Wilkes and Yadkin. EnergyUnited Propane provides products and services to more than 24,000 residential, commercial and industrial customers in 74 counties across North and South Carolina. Visit EnergyUnited online at to learn more about our electric and propane businesses.

Join the VIP Readers' Club!

Creating an account entitles you to the following perks:

Already a member?


Subscribe to SVL Free News Email Alerts

* indicates required