Election Watch: Ten more candidates file for this fall's elections

Posted at 5:43 PM on Jul 12, 2019



The number of candidates running for a seat on municipal governing boards in Iredell County and the Mooresville Graded Schools Board of Education this fall doubled during the first full week of filing.

Ten candidates filed the necessary paperwork to stand for elections in the October and November elections in the Iredell County Elections, bringing the total number of candidates running for office to 21.

The three seats up for grabs on the Statesville City Council have garnered the most interest with three or four candidates seeking each position. None of the incumbents in Wards 1, 4 and 6 has filed.

The filing period, which began on July 5, ends at noon on Friday, July 19.

October Elections

The following cadidates have filed for the October 8 elections:

Town of Mooresville 
► MAYOR: Miles Atkins 
► COMMISSIONER-WARD 1: Eddie Dingler
​​​​​​​► COMMISSIONER-WARD 2: Thurman Houston 

City of Statesville
​​​​​​​► COUNCILMAN-WARD 1: Tammy Wyatt; Mark Kleinhenz; Chris Lamberth
​​​​​​​► COUNCILMAN-WARD 4: James H. Pressly; Julius Hoke; Kyle Houston; Amy Lawton 
​​​​​​​► COUNCILMAN-WARD 6: Frederick Foster; James T. Neal; David Jackson 

November Elections

The following candidates have filed to run in the November 5 elections:

Town of Harmony
​​​​​​​► TOWN COUNCIL: Scotty Harris; Douglas Galliher

Town of Love Vallery
​​​​​​​► COMMISSIONER: Tori Barker

Mooresville Graded Schools 
​​​​​​​► BOARD OF EDUCATION: Debbie Marsh; Kerry S. Pennell; Roger E. Hyatt; Scarlett Overbay-Inman 

Town of Troutman 
​​​​​​​► MAYOR: Teross Young
​​​​​​​► TOWN COUNCIL: Matt Weber; Janith (Jan) Huffman

Join the VIP Readers' Club!

Creating an account entitles you to the following perks:

Already a member?


Subscribe to SVL Free News Email Alerts

* indicates required