Early voting for municipal elections starts Sept. 18; candidate forums begin Sept. 23

Posted at 2:43 PM on Sep 13, 2019



Early voting for the October 8 Municipal Elections in Iredell County begins on Wednesday, September 18, at the Iredell County Elections Office.

Registered voters can cast their ballots between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m. on September 18-20, September 23-27, and September 30-October 4 at the Elections Office, 203 Stockton Street, Statesville.

Photo ID is not required to vote in the 2019 Municipal Elections.

Statesville Races

Three seats on the Statesville City Council are up for grabs. All three incumbents decided not to seek re-election:

► WARD 1: Tim Dearman, David L. Jones, Mark Kleinhenz, Chris Lamberth, Tammy Wyatt
► WARD 4: Julius Hoke, Kyle Houston, Amy Lawton, James H. Pressly
► WARD 6: Frederick Foster, David Jackson, Marvin Odell Laxton, David Mayes Jr., James T. Neal


The deadline to register is 5 p.m. on Friday, September 13. However, law does allow a person to register and vote the same day during One-Stop/Early Voting.  The voter must present proof of current residence, which includes any one of the following documents:  N.C. Driver’s license (unexpired), N.C. Identification Card (unexpired), utility bill, bank statement, pay check/stub, or any other government document.

Candidates Fourms

The Greater Statesville Chamber of Commerce, WAME Radio and Statesville Free News are sponsoring candidate forums for these races in the weeks leading up to the October 8 election. Here is the schedule for the fourms:

► WARD 1: Monday, September 23, 7 to 8:30 p.m., Statesville Civic Center
► WARD 4: Tuesday, September 24, 7 to 8:30 p.m., Statesville Civic Center
► WARD 6: Tuesday, October 1, 7 to 8:30 p.m., Statesville Civic Center 

Join the VIP Readers' Club!

Creating an account entitles you to the following perks:

Already a member?


Subscribe to SVL Free News Email Alerts

* indicates required