All three Statesville City Council races headed to run-offs

Posted at 10:43 PM on Oct 8, 2019



Statesville voters in Wards 1, 4 and 6 will return to the polls again in November for run-off elections after no candidate won a majority of votes in Tuesday's elections.

As expected, voter turnout was light in all three races. Less than 200 votes were cast in the Ward 6 race and no candidate received more than 171 votes in any contest.

Here are the results of each race:

Ward 1

David L. Jones edged Tim Dearman by 17 voters to win a hotly contested race for the Ward 1 seat. 

Jones (134 votes) and Dearman (117 votes) are headed for a run-off in November. The winner of the run-off between will replace Councilman Roy West, who decided not to run for re-election.

Chris Lamberth (115 votes) finished third and missed out on the run-off by three votes, while Mark Kleinhenz (114 votes) was fourth.

Tammy Wyatt (36 votes) was a distant fifth.

Ward 4

James H. Pressly and Amy Lawton were the top vote-getters in a four-way race for the Ward 4 seat and will square off in a run-off in November. The winner will succeed Councilman Michael Johnson, who did not seek re-election.

Pressly garnered 171 votes to capture nearly 35 percent of the vote, while Lawton was second with 143 votes.

Julius Hoke finished third with 118 votes and Kyle Houston was fifth with only 55 votes.

Ward 6

David Jackson and Frederick Foster finished first and second in the Ward 6 election to advance to a November run-off. The winner will replace Councilman Keith Williams, who did not run for another term.

Jackson won the five-candidate race with 93 votes, Foster was second with 58 votes, and James Neal was third with 35 votes.

David Mayes Jr. (5 votes) and Marvin Odell Laxton (4 votes) finished fourth and fifth, respectively.

Join the VIP Readers' Club!

Creating an account entitles you to the following perks:

Already a member?


Subscribe to SVL Free News Email Alerts

* indicates required