Mitchell nursing graduates honored at annual pinning ceremony

Posted at 7:01 PM on May 17, 2017



Thirty-two nursing students gathered on the Circle of the Mitchell Community College for their pinning ceremony Wednesday evening.

The nursing class of 2017 consisted of young students, single moms, fathers, grandmothers, and others.

Family, friends, and faculty members assembled for the college's 33rd ceremony to honor the nursing graduates.

Amanda Moose, a nursing instructor, welcomed the students and their guests and opened with a prayer. She commended the new nurses for overcoming times of discouragement and exhaustion to achieve their goals.

Vice President of Instruction Dr. Camille Reese encouraged the class to continue their education.

"It's your professional duty to always seek out learning opportunities so you can consistently strive to be your best," she said.

Guest speaker Dr. Sheryl Cornelius advised the graduates to embrace their new identities. She quoted Maya Angelou and told them that people will forget what you say and do, but they will not forget how you make them feel.

After the new nurses were presented with their pins, they recited the Florence Nightingale Pledge together.

Awards were presented to individuals who stood out in different areas during their educational journey.

The class as a whole was honored with "The Human Spirit" award for all of their dedication and effort.

Mitchell President Dr. Tim Brewer closed the ceremony by praising the grads: "It's not an easy program, but you have made it tonight."

As the ceremony came to an end, the newly pinned nurses cried and smiled as they hugged loved ones.


Brittany Fulp Adams (Statesville); Rebecca Ann Ammons (Mooresville); Anne Auten Baker (Advance); Jessica Bost Bodie (Statesville); Paula Brooks (Mooresville); Kyle Brown (Statesville); Danae Michelle Buck (Mooresville); Lauren Elizabeth Corey (Troutman); Lauren Elizabeth Frogge (Olin); Erin Kathleen Green (Statesville); Cassandra Hamilton (Statesville); Julie Dawn Horoschuck (Statesville)
Cassandra Rae Kelley (Hiddenite); Adam Lail (Stoney Point); Carlene Nicole Lambert (Granite Quarry); Samantha Lemings (Statesville); Shelby Mabry (Mooresville); Eve Laraine Nalley (Statesville); Taylor Nicole Owen (Statesville); Joyelle Pearson (Denver); Paige Amber Peeler (Davidson); Brenda Sangdao Pholsina (Mooresville); Cintia C. Puentes (Statesville); Destiny Reeves (Mooresville); Amanda Starr Rogers (Mocksville); Jodi Rachelle Sandlin (Mooresville); Jasmyne Springs (Charlotte); Felicia Leigh (Statesville); Stacy Norris Walker (Huntersville); Rachael Michelle Ware (Mooresville); Heather White (Hickory); Aaron Wilson (Statesville)

Award Winners

• Beth Maine Scholarship: Adam Lail
• Alpha Delta Nu Honor Society: Jessica Bodie, Paula Brooks, Danae Buck, Erin Green, Adam Lail, Destiny Reeves, Heather White
• Academic Achievement Award (Highest GPA): Jessica Bodie
• Leadership Award: Paula Brooks
• Outstanding Clinician: Amanda Rogers
• Best All Around: Aaron Wilson
• Professionalism Award: Brenda Pholsina
• Humanitarianism Award: Erin Green
• Human Spirit Award: Class of 2017

Join the VIP Readers' Club!

Creating an account entitles you to the following perks:

Already a member?


Subscribe to SVL Free News Email Alerts

* indicates required